Summer without internet and with a lot more life!

B and I have moved from East to South London for less than a month but we both feel like we have lived here a lot longer than that. The reason is that we literally live more here since we do not have internet! Though we could share the bill and use the housemate’s internet, it has been a great decision not to have it. I used the internet so much that without the internet, it feels like I have freed myself from a trap after almost eight years since I first had internet at home.

The room we rent is quite small but the house has a big garden with a small river crossing by at the back. We wake up to the sounds of birds singing most of the time, if not the cats during the night sometimes – you know what I mean. We have breakfast, lunch and dinner outside in the sun (welcome to British summer time!), look at the spacious sky, big trees dancing in the wind – instead of watching something as we tried not to but still did sometimes when we ate in door. After breakfast, I practise yoga at the end of the garden when B practises classical guitar. Squirrels chase one after another from this to that branch above us like it is their Olympic time – I still hope they would never fall! There are two cats from the landlord upstairs and three others from the area who often come around. The other day when we were finishing dinner, a big fox was running after one of the cats, B ran out to rescue – the cat was shivering under the neighbour kids’ plastic slider. With the sky getting dark and the grand trees around, it was such a scene!

1402144932883

the garden where we stayed in Norbury, London

Without the internet, I finally read the books I wanted to. I finished ‘Chinese-English dictionary for lovers’ by Xiaolu Guo in less than three days, finished ‘True Love: A Practice for Awakening the Heart’ by Thich Nhat Hanh that I started a long while ago. Now I am half way through ‘Europe 101 Art & History for the traveller’ by Rick Steves & Gene Openshaw. It is a fun read of more than 500 pages full of interesting facts and figures as preparation before my coming EU inter-rail trip this summer. I also draw and start painting, using watercolour and acrylic paint so far. I could not stop playing with the colours after five hours the other day, despite of bug bite and the weather getting colder at night. Leaving the bites area in the sun and in warm salt-water ease the swollen and itchy areas.

We do check emails sometimes with limited data on my phone and go to the local library for internet only when needed. The library blocks a few social media sites, which helps to focus on the important things only. Without the internet, B and I have more time to enjoy the nature and each other. I get to do more reading, writing and B still practises guitar a lot as usual but definitely more. I feel more in control of my life without the internet – more relaxed, calm and happy. I highly recommend cutting off the internet at home if you have not tried. You save some money, a lot of time and get to do much more breathing & playing!

P.S. I am typing this with Word and will post it at the local library later.

One thought on “Summer without internet and with a lot more life!

  1. Reblogged this on now and then and commented:

    Me and my boyfriend have moved from East to South London for less than a month but we both feel like we have lived here a lot longer than that. The reason is that we literally live more here since we do not have internet! Though we could share the bill and use the housemate’s internet, it has been a great decision to not have it. I used the internet so much that I feel like I have freed myself from a trap after almost eight years since I first had internet at home. I will probably not have internet at home ever again and I will tell you why.

    Like

Leave a Reply

